

1. Call to Order

Margaret Pfoh, President of the Canadian Housing and Renewal Association (CHRA) and Chair of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) opened the meeting at 1:03pm ET and welcomed delegates. She also gave a land acknowledgement of all Indigenous peoples and territories in Canada.

2. Notice of Annual General Meeting and Quorum

Shaun Simms, CHRA's Board Secretary, announced that quorum was met, and proper notice was given for the meeting.

Motion: that the agenda be approved.

MOVED: George Cormier

SECONDED: Tyler Stewart

CARRIED

3. Approval of Minutes, Annual General Meeting, June 1, 2023

Motion: that the minutes of the June 1, 2023 Annual General Meeting be approved.

MOVED: Jen Crowe

SECONDED: Mylène Vincent

CARRIED

4. Joint Report of the President and Executive Director

Margaret Pfoh and Ray Sullivan, Executive Director of CHRA, shared that the joint report of the President and Executive Director which was outlined in the Annual Report and AGM package.

Margaret summarised that in 2023, the Indigenous Caucus played a key role in setting up NICHI, and securing an additional \$4 billion for urban, rural and northern Indigenous Housing - \$2.8 billion of which we expect to be delivered through NICHI.

CHRA's advocacy efforts over 2023 produced:

- An additional \$1 billion for the Affordable Housing Fund in the Fall Economic Statement
- And a second \$1 billion for the Affordable Housing Fund in the recent federal budget
- A \$1.5 billion Canada Rental Protection Fund for acquisitions
- An opportunity to access federal lands for \$1 leases

Margaret asked delegates if there were any questions or comments; there were not.

Margaret thanked the dedicated leaders on the CHRA Board, and the hard-working CHRA staff.

Motion: that the Joint Report of the President and Executive Director be received.

MOVED: George Cormier

SECONDED: Roger Kishi

CARRIED

5. Treasurer's Report

CHRA Treasurer George Cormier reported on the 2023 Audited Financial Statements and introduced Martine Viau, partner at Marcil-Lavalee, CHRA's auditor. CHRA ended 2023 with a deficit of \$75,896 (compared to a deficit of \$29,978 at the end of 2022).

There were no questions from delegates.

Motion: to accept the 2023 audited financial statements. MOVED: Leigh Bursey SECONDED: George Cormier CARRIED

6. Appointment of Auditors for 2023

George Cormier noted that we have worked with the firm Marcil Lavallée for the last five years and have been pleased with their work. As a result, the CHRA Finance Committee and the Board recommend retaining Marcil-Lavallée as our auditor for 2024.

Motion: that Marcil Lavallée be appointed as auditors for 2024.

MOVED: Roger Kishi

SECONDED: André Castonguay

CARRIED

7. Consideration of Resolutions and By-Law Changes

The call for resolutions was included in the AGM notice in March, but we did not receive any. Moving to the next agenda item.

8. Report of Nominations Committee

Past-President and Nominations Committee Chair Tim Crooks reported on Board elections and nominations, and presented the slate as recommended by the Board of Directors:

- Alberta: Gord Johnston, CEO of Civida
- New Brunswick: Mylène Vincent, Pivot Housing
- Nova Scotia and PEI: Maurice James, Director of Community Programs & Partnerships, Phoenix Youth Programs
- Indigenous Communities: Jackie Hunt, Senior Director, Strategy & Impact, at End Homelessness Winnipeg
- At Large: Jamie Facciolo, Director of Development and Homelessness Initiatives, Homes First Society

Motion: to ratify the results of the nomination process as presented in the Report of the Nominating Committee.

MOVED: Justin Marchand

SECONDED: Roger Kishi

CARRIED

10. Introduction of the Board of Directors for 2023-24

Margaret Pfoh presented the full 2023-2024 Board of Directors:

- President & Regional Director, British Columbia Margaret Pfoh, Chief Executive Officer, Aboriginal Housing Management Association
- Director-at-Large Leigh Bursey, Mount Pearl, Newfoundland and Labrador
- Regional Director, Ontario Michael Braithwaite, CEO, Blue Door
- Regional Director, Newfoundland & Labrador Jen Crowe, Manager of Strategic Initiatives, Choices for Youth
- Director-at-Large **Anne Demers**, Directrice générale, Regroupement des Offices d'habitation du Québec.
- Regional Director, Québec André Castonguay, directeur général, Réseau Québécois des OSBL d'Habitation

- Director-at-Large Jamie Facciolo, Director of Development and Homelessness Initiatives, Homes First Society
- Regional Director, Manitoba James Heinrichs, Executive Director, Winnipeg Housing Rehabilitation Corporation
- Director, Indigenous Communities Jackie Hunt, Senior Director, Strategy & Impact, at End Homelessness Winnipeg
- Regional Director, Nova Scotia & PEI **Maurice James**, Director of Community Programs & Partnerships, Phoenix Youth Programs
- Regional Director, Alberta Gord Johnston, Chief Executive Officer, Civida
- Regional Director, Northern Territories Juanie Pudluk, Associate Deputy Minister, Nunavut Housing Corporation
- Director-at-Large **Shaun Simms**, Vice President, People, Culture and Communications, Ottawa Community Housing Corporation
- Regional Director, Saskatchewan **Tyler Stewart**, President, Stewart Properties
- Regional Director, New Brunswick Mylène Vincent, Pivot Housing

11. Recognition of Departing Board Members

President Margaret Pfoh gave thanks and appreciation to departing board members, and a special thanks to her board mentor and departing past-President Tim Crooks:

- Justin Marchand
- Susan McGee
- Tim Crooks
- George Cormier

Margaret also thanked CHRA Staff:

- Ray Sullivan, Executive Director
- Julie McNamara, Director of Programs, Partnerships & Events
- Leah Blunden, Manager of Communications
- Chloe Martin, Membership & Program Coordinator
- Mel Willerth, Senior Manager of Education
- Vena Beckford, Director of Indigenous Housing and Policy
- Anna Martin, Executive Coordinator
- Kenneth Milner, Director of Policy and Government Relations

11. Adjournment

Motion: to adjourn meeting.

MOVED: Louise Atkins

CARRIED

Shaun Simms, Board Secretary